top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAparna Nair

Busy Week....

10/9/2021


This last week was full of many important events including my first 4 interviews and the mandatory ISM event Business Symposium. For all my interviews, I needed to create personalized questions and research more about the professional to be able to ask about their specific experiences. Three of my interviews were in-person and the last interview was virtual. While I was extremely nervous, each professional made the environment comfortable and answered all my questions thoroughly. I had an amazing time hearing all their experiences and answers because I found out so much more about psychology and specific licenses and certifications people can get while still majoring in psychology. Though research assessments are a good source of research and helped me learn more about my field, these interviews exposed me to a different side of psychology that I am excited to explore more about. Furthermore, these interviews helped me figure out information more than just about psychology. I understand now that leaving earlier for an interview is best because there is no guarantee of a smooth travel experience. Also, it takes time to figure out where to go once you reach the interview location. The professional could ask to meet in the lobby of the second floor, but it is up to me to find where to park and how to get to the lobby. Leaving early ensures that there is no way of arriving late and leaving a bad first impression. To make sure I got there on time, I left around 20-30 minutes before an interview even if the location of the interview was close to me. I also understand the importance of notifying my teachers and my ISM teacher about my interview ahead of time will help me stay on track during class and not fall behind. Communication is highly important whether it is confirming my interview with the professional closer to the date of the interview or letting my teacher know that I am leaving for my interview. I must never forget to communicate with these people. Just like my interviews, the Business Symposium was an amazing experience that gave me many pieces of advice that I will never forget. During this event, I was able to speak with other ISM students and learn about their experiences while receiving advice from older ISM 2 students. I also got to meet with professionals and ask questions about anything I wanted to learn about. It was a highly enjoyable experience that I am happy that I participated in.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Product Finish Line in Sight!

4/4/2022 The final two weeks before the final product was starting to approach. I began the actual construction of my website which is the last step for my final product other than getting feedback fr

Oh, My? Final Product Progress?

3/28/2022 For last week, the product log is due at the end of the week. I needed to make sure I had all my hours in for all the work I did for my final product. I did not log in my mentor visits and t

Final Weeks Approaching

3/21/2022 For the first week of my fourth quarter, I first started to prepare for my mentor visit of the week. One of the items I needed to complete with my mentor was going over my digital portfolio

bottom of page